Moving Forward One Day At A Time!

In my opinion, there is no better way to start your day than with a stick to your bones serving of oatmeal!  Did you know oats are LOADED with healthy dietary fiber, including soluble and insoluble fiber!!  These require a lot of work for your digestive system to break them down thus leaving you feeling fuller longer!!  HALLA!!  They also help regulate blood sugars, which in return, don’t give you those sugar highs & lows.  I don’t think I can say enough about oatmeal!  Which brings me to one of my favorite variations

~ The Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal~

I’m sure I started with someone elses recipe but I can’t remember where it came from!  Plus I have added my own twist!  So I appologize before hand for not giving props!  If I figure it out I will do so FOR SURE!!!!

  It’s SO easy.  So here goes!!

The Cast

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees.

Ok to begin, I grind my own flax seed and oat flour.  Yes, Yes, I know that you buy these already ground but I take some satisfaction in doing it myself.  Also did you know flax seed holds its nutritional value longer in its natural form than if it is ground??  Therefore, I prefer to grind my own right before I am going to use it.

I use my handy dandy Mr. Coffee coffee grinder to grind my flax seed and oatmeal. I add the measured amount of ingredients to the grinder cup and grind away.

Here is the flax seed and oatmeal before and after grinding.

                 

Next combine the dry ingredients to a large bowl and use a whisk to mix them up.

       

In another bowl,  combine the wet ingredients and the apples.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry.  And mix it all up.  Doesn’t it look delish!

        

Now here comes the best part!!!  You can use Mason Jars to bake!!  HALLA!!!!

Everything is already portioned out.  Perfect for a family breakfast or, if you are like me, I have everything portioned out for the week.

I used 1/2 pint Mason Jars here to make 8 servings.  Spray the insides of the jars with a clean cooking spray to prevent sticking.

Fill the jars almost to the top.  Be sure to leave room for the oatmeal to slightly rise.

Then garnish the top with a few apple slices and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Place in a pan with a little bit of water.  Bake in the oven uncovered for 35-45 mins or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Add a lid!!  You can even go one step further and use a vacuum sealer with jar attachment to seal jars.

I keep a few jars in the fridge and put the rest in the freezer.  I then restock the fridge as needed.

They can be reheated in the microwave or if you are like me, eat them cold straight out of the fridge!!

Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

By: Sunni Gliddon of PushMeForward.wordpress.com

Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

  • 3 Cups Rolled Oats (Old Fashion Oats)
  • 3 tsp Cinnamon
  • 6 tsp Ideal Sweetener
  • ½ Cup Ground Flax seed
  • ½ Cup Oat Flour

Wet Ingredients

  • 4 Apples (3 diced and 1 sliced for garnish)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract (Try to find one that is alcohol free)
  • 3 Cups of liquid (I use 1 cup of Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk & 2 cups of water)
  • ½ Cup Unsweetened Applesauce

Directions Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray 8 ½ pint Mason Jars (or one 8 x 8 baking dish) with a clean cooking spray (one free of propellants).  Mix Dry Ingredients in a large bowl.  Mix Wet Ingredients in a separate bowl.  Add Wet Ingredients to the Dry Ingredients and stir to combine.  Fill Mason Jars to the screw line, leaving room for the oatmeal to slightly rise (or spread in 8 x 8 dish).  Garnish with leftover sliced apples and a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Place jars in a baking pan with about ½ inch of water (If using an 8 x 8 dish, just place dish in oven.) Bake for 35 – 45 mins or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Makes 8 servings.  * Tip:  If storing, place lid on top of jars and they can be sealed using a jar attachment of a vacuum sealer.  Jars can be stored in the refrigerator or freezer.  Can be eaten warm or cold straight out of the fridge. ENJOY!!

Find A Printable Version Here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Ewz4NaVyLaE2JRvKEWtjLwT2e1Jrlkh8g5OZ0OzDQI8/edit

Happy Healthy Clean Eating!!

Blessings,

 ~Sunni

Comments on: "Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal" (4)

  1. This looks really yummy! Love the mason jar baking. Super cute!

  2. What a great idea , I love cold porridge!

  3. how much fun are these?? And I love the health factor – gotta get me my flax seed! I love it!

    PS. mason jars are the shit for sure.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

